About Us

The Reading Rockets are a basketball club located in Reading, United Kingdom. The club provides a player pathway from junior basketball camps all the way to senior professional teams.

The Mission

Reading Rockets Basketball club was launched in September 1997 with two main goals:

  • To give children from the age 6 (now 4) upwards the opportunity to play sport to very best of their ability
  • To have a positive impact on Reading and the surrounding county unifying family values and high standards through sports

It has continued to engage youngsters through its community and healthy lifestyle development programmes in schools, leisure centres, colleges and universities and with programmes to bring adults back to the sport.

Our Objectives

  • To engage through coaching, play, match attendance and social media young people in the Reading Borough Council and surrounding areas
  • Provide opportunities for free access to the sport to the most deprived communities in the area.
  • To mentor and develop young people giving them enhanced life opportunities.
  • Provide health education and activity to families in socially disadvantaged communities.
Core values






We have Impact

Hours coached per week

Young people/Adults coached weekly

Community programmes run weekly

Rockets teams

Club Achievements
National Cup Winners
National Trophy Winners
EBL Division 1 League Champions
EBL Division 1 Playoff Runners Up
EBL Division 1 League Champions
EBL Division 1 Playoff Champions
EBL Division 1 Playoff Champions
National Trophy Winners
EBL Division 1 Playoff Champions
EBL Division 1 League Champions
National Trophy Winners
National Cup Winners
National Trophy Winners
National Trophy Winners
EBL Division 1 Playoff Champions
National Cup Winners
Club Founded
Clubman Award
Award Winners

2016 – Samantha Johnson
2015 – Head Coach Manuel Pena Garces
2014 – Frank Norton-Hill
2013 – Sue Steen
2012 – The Shotter family
2011 – Samit Nuruzade
2010 – Liz Edwards
2009 – JP Campbell
2008 – Josh Thorne
2007 – Chris Brading
2006 – Ben Fisher
2005 – Geoff Goodman
2004 – Jackie Turner
2003 – Steph Johnson
2002 – Ted Smith
2001 – Jane Poole
2000 – Geoff Goodman
1999 – Gary Hull